San Francisco
San Francisco San Francisco San Francisco San Francisco San Francisco

The National Council of Community-based organization was born out of concerted efforts by Gitau Njoroge, Mwangi Mukami, Munene Mwariri, and other community workers who got together and decided to form an umbrella body to agitate for legislation that would see self-help groups acquire a legal identity.

The organization began operations as Nairobi CBO Consortium and met at an office in Caxton House donated by Mwangi Mukami and Munene Mwariri. It had its first meeting at YMCA mamlaka social Hall and invited all self-help groups to join the Mamlaka Conference to allow for the formation of a sustainable umbrella body to cater for grassroots organizations.

During the inaugural Mamlaka Conference Mr. Gitau Njoroge was elected Chairman, Munene Mwariri elected Secretary and Mwangi Mukami elected as the treasurer and Executive Director. The team was tasked with the responsibility of registering the amorphous body and recruiting grassroots organizations to form a more inclusive body. In addition, the team was to source funds and convene the 2nd Mamlaka Conference within three months.

During the second Mamlaka Conference, grassroots organizations from outside Nairobi, requested to join the movement, which ultimately led to the agitation for a national body. The interim committee proposed the name of the organization to be Kenya CBO Consortium and Ms. Karen Kiarie, Ms. Jane Wanjira, Mr. Wekesa Chebayi, Mr. Oniang’o Obunaka, Mr. Thomas Aosa and Mr. Mpapaiyo Victor were seconded to work with the interim team and pursue an inclusive National body of grassroots organizations.

In 2005, the government through the NGO coordination board frustrated the efforts to register the Kenya CBO Consortium, and The National CBO Consortium. After negotiations, and deliberations of the Extraordinary Committee the name National CBO Council was proposed. However, the NGO board denied the organization registration, which led to the team opting to register under the Societies Act with the help of the then Provincial Director of Social Services.

The Council incorporated in 2006 November as the National CBO Council with Mwangi Mukami serving as its first Executive Director. A National Governing Council was convened in 2006, which elected Mr. Thomas Aosa as the Chairperson, Mr. Munene Mwariri as the Secretary-General and Mrs. Halimma Hussein as the Treasurer.

In November 2006, Standard Villas Limited, donated Hazina Towers 9th Floor office block to serve as the headquarters



NCCBO is a registered non-government, non-profit, non-political organization. The organization began in 2005 and incorporated in 2006, under the Societies Act (Registration No. 26025), at the registrar of societies (Attorney General’s Chambers). NCCBO is an assembly of grassroots organizations. Currently we have 52,350 registered members nationally. Out of these 45% are youth-led and youth-focused self-help groups.


Our mission is to build the legal, administrative, social, and economic capacity of community-based organizations to become the key drivers of positive change at the grassroots level and to positively influence the economic, social, and legal development of the local community.


We see ourselves transforming grassroots organizations into climate-conscious, wealth-creation engines that will propel the rural and urban-slums community to achieve sustainable social economic development, self-reliance, and education for sustainability.


To build the capacity of grassroots organizations to enable them to become focus-based social-development units that effectively implement grassroots aspirations for self-reliance, social- economic development, and poverty reduction.


Only organizations that have registered as community-based, self-help or community welfare associations may join the Council. We currently have 52,350 registered groups in 47 counties. Each county has a network of grassroots organizations, governed by a locally elected county committee. The average membership of each organization is 67 members.



The Board of the organization is called the NGC (National Governing Council) it consists of: The Chairperson, the Deputy, the Secretary-General, the Treasurer, and three Members. The executive Director also serves as the Secretary to the Board. However, the executive director cannot vote in a board meeting unless he is a member of the NGC


The executive committee is headed by an Executive Director and is responsible for the day-to-day running of the organization. In the event of a shortage of funding for the Secretariat, the Governing Council may nominate some of the members to run the organization on an interim basis.


Every county has a network of organizations governed by an elected committee. Members in the county, elect the committee every 2 years. The Committee coordinates the implementation of both national and county aspirations in the county and reports to the NGC.

TAGS : Past Initiative > NCBO Council > Community

Post a Comment

  1. Please enter this word in the textbox below